Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

  Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery is a branch of dentistry that deals with the art of diagnosis and treatment of various diseases, injuries & defects involving the oro-facial region.

The department has separate undergraduate, postgraduate and Minor O.T facilities with both Indian & International standards. Both at Madha Dental College & Madha Medical College, the department of OMFS play a vital role in multidisciplinary team approach in treating various maxillofacial & craniofacial defects & deformities.

The department of OMFS has carved a niche for the other specialties of dentistry. At Madha Medical College, we have well equipped casualty, 24x7 Emergency O.T, plastic surgery, Neurosurgery, ENT, Ophthalmology etc. Both the undergraduate & postgraduate students have good exposure in all the departments of Medical sciences.

Journal discussions, interdisciplinary activities among other different departments are being conducted periodically. The undergraduate students are taught hands-on suturing, different wiring techniques, simple extraction of teeth, alveoloplasty, simple fractures, impactions & implants. The students are exposed to various minor oral surgical procedures like impactions, pre-prosthetic surgery, alveoloplasty, cyst removal, apicectomy & dental implants. Major maxillofacial training includes treatment of cysts and tumors of the jaw bones, management of disorders of maxillary sinuses, initial & definitive management of traumatic injuries of soft & hard tissues of maxillofacial region.

The postgraduates will have good exposure to major orthognathic surgeries, salivary gland diseases, TMJ disorders, cleft lip & palate surgeries, reconstruction of missing portion of jaw bones with bone graft or distraction osteogenesis are available for Post-Graduate study. Department of Oral and Maxillofacial surgery is managed by efficient and experienced faculties.

S.No Name Qualification Designation Mobile/Telephone
1. Dr. P. Jayavelu M.D.S. Professor & Head -
2. Dr. P. M. Udayakumar M.D.S. Professor -
3. Dr. R. Riaz M.D.S. Reader -
4. Dr. A. R. Tariq Salam M.D.S. Reader -
5. Dr. B. Saravanan M.D.S. Senior Lecturer -
6. Dr. K. Raghu M.D.S. Senior Lecturer -
7. Dr. S. P. Yoganand M.D.S. Senior Lecturer -
8. Dr. Jenifer B.D.S. Lecturer -

HomeInfrastructureAccreditationInternational StudentsResearch FocusCourse OptionsAdmission CriteriaFacultyPhoto galleryReach Us